I was perfect

Can I just say that this movie poster is the most haunting I’ve seen in a while. I didn’t even think it was Natalie Portman when I first saw it.

I just saw the movie again last night in theatres, the first time was done illegally (through the internet, of course.) And it was just as good as the first time. The movie is so subtle and well-made that the second viewing doesn’t diminish the quality of the movie.

The plot is basically about Nina Sayers (Natalie Portman), a young and promising ballerina, who gets cast as the lead in Swan Lake. She then goes on a psychological journey where she is obsessed with striving for perfection. She begins to get paranoid that another dancer Lily, played by Mila Kunis, is trying to take her spot. Her paranoia is fueled by her fear that the director of the play, Thomas, played by Vincent Cassel, favors Lily for the role.

What surprised me about the movie was how well Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis were as ballet dancers. They were so convincing.  Being “on pointe” is very difficult to fake.

I can go on and on about the movie but what I didn’t know was that Rodarte designed the costumes for the entire movie. So on to the clothes…

Let’s start with the sketches.

I find it amazing that Kate Mulleavy, of Rodarte, still does her own sketches.

This dress is just beautiful in the movie. The screen caps I have don’t do it justice.

There’s nothing more I can say about this movie besides that it’s become one of my favorite movies of all time. It has the combination of what I find makes a “perfect” movie, no pun intended. It’s the story, the casting, the acting, and the amazing costumes that make it good. The Fifth Element comes to mind (it’s ranked #1 in my fave movies list).

It’s 3:30am on New Year’s Eve in Hawaii now, and I still haven’t slept.  Gotta get some zzzzzz’s so I can stay awake all night later on today.

New Year’s post coming soon:)

P.S. I just read the post to myself and sorry if I sound so scatter-brained and abrupt.  Need sleep, pronto.

Leave a Reply

