Happy New Year 2011!!!!!!!!!!

I’m not gonna write about some kind of platitude about the new year like it will somehow affect me in the coming year but I do want to say how thankful I am to be alive and hopefully I will stay that way for many more years to come. I want 2011 to be a year about me living my life to the fullest, as clichéd as that may sound. Not that I’ve been doing less of that the past few years but past experiences in 2010 have made me realize how fleeting life really is. This isn’t a surprise when I think about how close I came to being crushed by an oncoming truck,whose driver lost control, while waiting at a bus stop (mental exhale).

The high of the adrenaline that passed through my system that day kept me alert at the bus stop for days. I still keep an eye on the road at all times even now. Anyone who has sat at a bus stop knows how easy it is to drift off and not pay attention to oncoming traffic. Lucky that day I was standing, due to sprinklers liberally wetting the seats and bench at the said bus stop, and paying close attention at the road for the bus. When I saw that truck suddenly coming at me, all that came to my mind was 1) OH FUCK, and 2) RUN LIKE HELL. Thank gawd, no one got hurt. The curb stopped the truck from going any further.

After that happened, I couldn’t help feeling shocked but also unbelievably relieved to still be alive. The shock came from the fact that I almost died while waiting at a bus stop. I mean, you’d think driving would be more dangerous and it is. But come on!  But sadly enough, my fear was real because just months before two old ladies were run over by a car while at a bus stop near the same part of the island I live on.

Anyway, I want to say how lucky I feel to be alive and to be surrounded by people who I care for and vice versa.

May 2011 be a year where dreams comes true, where love will blossom, and where hope will persevere.

Now there’s the platitude you were waiting for. But I assure you, dear Reader, if anyone besides me ever sees this post, I mean every word.

Btw, it’s still only 11:11pm in Hawaii on New Year’s Eve, but I wanna watch the New Year pass all around the globe on TV and see the illegal aerial fireworks go off in my neighborhood when 12:00am hits. So…….

Happy Motherfuckin’ New Year 2011!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

