The Monster Bride

I was reminded of my love for Dracula when I visited one of my favorite blogs. It brought up the memory of  one of the most memorable cinematic moments of my early life.

Bram Stoker’s Dracula

Directed by Francis Ford Coppola, screenplay by James V. Hart, starring Winona Ryder, Keanu Reeves, Anthony Hopkins,  and Gary Oldman

I remember it was showing on TV on the weekend when I was 7 or something.  I was at my cousin’s house at the time, so my fave cousin and I ended up watching it. We were scared shitless but we watched it anyway. I didn’t appreciate the full movie then. But one scene gave me nightmares for weeks. But my love for vampires only grew since then.

The scene that I’m referring to is when Lucy Westenra (played by Sadie Frost) dies and becomes a vampire. She dies before her wedding and is laid to rest in her gothic over-the-top amazing wedding dress.

Watch the video to see what I mean:

Wasn’t it just to die for? Literally.

I’ve watched it a million times since then but not until I grew up a little. Kids should not watch this movie. But even when I was a kid, I knew the movie was one of the better vampire movies out there. Along with Interview With A Vampire:) But that’s another movie.

I learned the costume designer for the movie was Eiko Ishioka. She did an amazing job.

The whole movie itself was extraordinary. The sets, the scenes, the costumes, the too dramatic acting, just everything was wow times a million.

I was weirdly attracted to young Dracula. Shows you what a good suit can do.

Wynona Rider as Mina. She’s so gorg here.

Unknown Monica Bellucci plays one of the vampire brides.

This is also another memorable scene. Dracula is remembering his Elisabeta. Their costumes are almost couture like.

Hope you enjoyed that;)

Til next time.

Leave a Reply

