Petits CADEAUX

There’s been so much controversy with Tom Ford’s Vogue Paris Christmas Issue, more specifically the editorial aptly named “Cadeaux” featuring little girls dressed up in grown-up couture and jewels. Thoughts of pedophilia and JonBenét Ramsey come to mind. I don’t deny it’s a little creepy but it’s nothing new.

I think it’s a little funny actually. You only see evil if you’re thinking evil. I’ve seen editorials in American issues of Elle and Harper’s Bazaar featuring little children dressed up as their adult counterparts before. And why all the hype so much later? The magazine’s been out for MONTHS. I suspect some demented and very religious group of people, I dare to say they may even mostly be Americans, are trying to start SHIT up. UGH.

Now enough of all that negativity, let’s appreciate how artfully done the editorial is. No expense was spared. I bet those custom size dresses are worth thousands. It’s  a fantasy, playing dress up, very innocent. That’s all it is. Gawd, when I was a little boy, I dreamed of being these little girls. So jealous.

Some even speculated that all this controversy was part of the reason Carine Roitfeld left her position of ten years as Editor-in-Chief of the famous magazine. She said she was always more of a stylist than a magazine editor and wanted to pursue other things. I really hope that wasn’t the case. I know people have to be held accountable for their actions but this didn’t hurt anyone except some idiot’s delicate sensibilities.

Leave a Reply

